Biljon names line-up for league opener


Jersey Head Coach Harvey Biljon has confirmed his 22-man squad for the opening Greene King IPA match of 2014/15, when the Islanders travel to Birmingham to play a team they have yet to beat in four attempts, Moseley. Saturday's game at Billesley Common kicks off at 3pm.

Biljon said that the form showed by players during Jersey's three pre-season games, wins over Ayr (43-0) and Blackheath (47-12) and a 10-34 loss to a strong Bath side, was the key in making his selection.

Strong showings by locks Dave Markham and Pierce Phillips earn them the starting slots in Jersey's engine room; this means that skipper Alex Rae, who returned from injury against Blackheath last weekend, has to make do with a place on the bench while the team will be led out by Ryan Hodson (pictured below in action against Moseley last season).

Hodson Mose Sml

The starting front row includes new signings Martin Garcia-Veiga and Harry Williams, while at half-back Jonny Bentley partners Ryan Glynn, the latter turning out against the team he played for last season.

Two other former Moseley players are in the squad - winger Mark Foster and prop Danny Herriot, who is among a full front row trio on Jersey's bench.

"I've known for several weeks that selection would be difficult, and certainly there have been tough calls to make," said Biljon. "Moseley will present a very difficult opening test, especially on home soil, but I'm confident I have the right men in place to put on the sort of performance we are aspiring to."

A full preview to the match can be found HERE while an interview with Harvey Biljon will be available from 12noon on

JRFC 1st XV vs Moseley (A), Greene King IPA Championship
Saturday September 6th, 2014, k-o 3pm

1. Sam Lockwood
2. Martin Garcia-Veiga
3. Harry Williams
4. Pierce Phillips
5. Dave Markham
6. Nick Haining
7. Ryan Hodson (capt)
8. Paula Kaho
9. Ryan Glynn
10. Jonny Bentley
11. Ed Dawson
12. Lewis Robling
13. Drew Locke
14. Mark Foster
15. Tommy Bell

16. Ignacio Lancuba
17. Gareth Harris
18. Danny Herriot
19. Alex Rae
20. Michael Noone
21. Nicky Griffiths
22. Mark McCrea

Email Newsletter

Enter your email address below to receive our email newsletter.

Photo Gallery
Go to the Gallery
Events Calendar

Check out the Academy calendar to see what events are coming up.