Team announced to face Moseley


The significance of Jersey's forthcoming home clash against Moseley has been thrown in to sharp perspective following a disappointing result away to Ealing last Friday. Harvey Biljon has responded accordingly with six changes to the starting line up.

Moseley are currently sitting in a comfortable 8th position in the table, nine points ahead of Jersey. The two teams last met in late December in what were torrid conditions. Despite the proximity to Christmas, Jersey - under the stewardship of Steve Boden at the time, derived little festive cheer as they narrowly lost, salvaging a losing bonus point in a low scoring game. The return fixture on Saturday, being the penultimate home fixture of the season and also a charity day in conjunction with Macmillan Cancer Support, promises to be a full house at St. Peter, reminiscent of last year's crunch match against Doncaster.

In the pack, Sam Lockwood switches with Sean McCarthy at loosehead with Nick Selway replacing an injured Dave Young at tighthead. Skipper Alex Rae, having been standing in at blindside recently, moves back to a more familiar position in the second row. In the backrow, Joe Buckle is given the nod at openside and Latu Makaafi switches from 8 to the blindside making room for Ben Maidment, try scorer at Plymouth, who is handed his first start since early January, as he makes a steady return to the fray.

In the backs, Jimmy Williams switches with Nicky Griffiths at 9, Mark McCrea is moved to the left wing with Dai Bishop coming in to the starting line up at 12.

The bench reverts to a 5:2 split with call ups for Jon Brennan and Tom Brown, both of whom will be raring to go having had limited involvement of late. 

Jersey squad v Moseley RFC (H) Saturday March 29th 2014, k-o 3.00pm

Backs (15-9)
Jack Burroughs
Grant Pointer
Drew Locke
Davis Bishop
Mark McCrea
Aaron Penberthy
Jimmy Williams

Forwards (1-8)
Sam Lockwood
Elvis Taione
Nick Selway
Nick Campbell
Alex Rae (capt)
Latu Makaafi
Joe Buckle
Ben Maidment

Luke Stratford
Jon Brennan
Sean McCarthy
Tom Brown
Ryan Hodson
Nicky Griffiths
Niall O'Connor


Email Newsletter

Enter your email address below to receive our email newsletter.

Photo Gallery
Go to the Gallery
Events Calendar

Check out the Academy calendar to see what events are coming up.